Leadership Race results announced

The Leadership Race has drawn to a close with the announcement of the new Gryphon Editor and Student Exec.

Results from the four-day election were announced to a packed Union foyer on Friday evening.

A total 8,488 students voted in the Leadership Race this year to elect seven candidates who will lead the Union.

Ben Cook pipped Ste Topping to the post of Gryphon Editor with a majority 1,092 votes.


Gemma Turner was re-elected as Equality and Diversity Officer, beating off competition from Emma Simpson and Skye Golding.


Melissa Owusu secured the role of Education Officer, with 3,040 votes.


Jonny Foster becomes Community Officer: “I’m so grateful. Thank you to everyone who voted!”


In arguably the most sought-after role, Freya Govus was re-elected as Welfare Officer from among the nine candidates running.


Taking over as Activities Officer is Piers Cottee-Jones, who cited a six-hour dance marathon among his campaign achievements.


Toke Dahler-Larsen was welcomed with rapturous applause as new Union Affairs Officer.


The full results from Leadership Race 2015 are:

Gryphon Editor – Ben Cook

Equality & Diversity Officer – Gemma Turner

Education Officer – Melissa Owusu

Welfare Officer  – Freya Govus

Community Officer – Jonny Foster

Activities Officer – Piers Cottee-Jones

Union Affairs Officer – Toke Dahler-Larsen

Charlotte Mason

Images courtesy of Leo Garbutt and Sam Broadley



Leave a Reply